Follow Us

Medical Care Guide
Types of Burns

Types of Burn Injury

Burn injury severity is based on several factors, including the patient’s age, their health condition at the time of injury and the size, depth and location of the burn. Please click on the links below to learn more about each specific type of burn.

Traditionally, burns have been classified according to depth of the burn. Burns may be classified as:

First Degree Burns

Second Degree Burns
third Degree Burns

Inhalation Injuries
Fourth Degree Burns


A Rule of Nines & chart is used to determine the total body surface area (TBSA) that has been burned. The chart divides the body into sections that represent multiples of nine. The TBSA affected is expressed as a percentage. In determining the TBSA of children and infants the Lund-Browder chart is used. A separate chart is used because the surface area of the head and neck of a child is larger and the limbs are smaller than adults.

Inhalation injuries are injuries occurring as a result of breathing in smoke and noxious products of combustion, as well as superheated air.

Burn Types may also be categorized based on mechanism of injury:

Medical Care Guide

Contact Us If you, a family member, or someone you know has sustained a serious injury and you want to determine whether you have a Personal Injury claim and/or a Worker's Compensation claim, please contact us.

First Name:
Last Name:
Phone: State:
* *
Describe your accident:
Describe your injuries:
What is 3 plus 1?
(it helps us stop spam)